CaSGC STEM Pipeline Selections 2010-2011

The California Space Grant has completed its review of STEM Pipleline proposals submitted by its affiliates. Below is a listing of the projects to be funded for the 2010-2011 fiscal year. To view all abstracts and contact info for awarded projects, please click here.

Cal Poly Pomona Aerospace Vehicle Laboratory STEM Pipeline Project

Don Edberg
California State Polytechnic University Pomona
Email: dedberg@csupomona.edu

Enhancing University Accessibility and Career Development through Mentoring of Underrepresented Student Populations in the Sacramento Area

Susan Ustin and Pia van Benthem
Center for Spatial Technologies and Remote Sensing (CSTARS)
University of California, Davis (UCD)
Email: slustin@ucdavis.edu

Summer Engineering Experience: A Program to Increase Gender Diversity in STEM Fields

Dr. Ram Nunna, Interim Dean, Dr. Maria Sanchez, and Nell Papavasiliou
California State University, Fresno (CSUF)
Phone: (559) 278-8111

STEM Outreach Focused on Research in the Control of Lagrangian Mixing in Fuel Injector Flows into Supersonic Cross-Stream

Gustaaf Jacobs
San Diego State University (SDSU)
Email: gjacobs@mail.sdsu.edu
Phone: (619) 594-6074

Improving the STEM Pipeline at Sonoma State University

Lynn Cominsky
Department of Physics and Astronomy
Sonoma State University (SSU)
Email: lynnc@universe.sonoma.edu
Phone: (707) 664-2655

Support for NASA Content Dissemination for Summer Residential Program for Elementary School Teachers

Lily Gossage, PI, Director
Engineering Recruitment & Retention Center
California State University, Long Beach (CSULB)
Email: lgossage@csulb.edu
Phone: (562) 985-2498

Eric Besnard, Co-PI, Professor
Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering Department
Email: besnarde@csulb.edu
Phone: (562) 985-5442

Space Science and Engineering Outreach through the MESA Schools Program

Professor Nosang V. Myung
Principal Investigator Authorized Representative
University of California, Riverside (UCR)
Email: myung@engr.ucr.edu
Phone: (951) 827-7710

Project ASTRO

Dr. Greg Schultz
Director of Education
Astronomical Society of the Pacific
Email: gschultz@ astrosociety.org
Phone: (415) 337-1100 x125

Teacher Professional Development for STEM (TPDS)

Srinivas Sukumar, PI
University of California, San Diego (UCSD)
Email: ssukumar@ucsd.edu
Phone: (858) 534 2577

CSUS Outreach to Girls and Minorities for Excellency in Engineering and Computer Science

Professor Jose J. Granda
Department of Mechanical Engineering
California State University, Sacramento (CSUS)
Email: grandajj@ecs.csus.edu
Phone: (916) 278-5711

UCLA STEM Pipeline Program

C.T. Russell
Department of Earth and Space Sciences
University of California, Los Angeles (UCLA)
Email: ctrussell@igpp.ucla.edu
Phone: (310) 825-3188

Art and Visualization Program

Enrico Ramirez-Ruiz
Astronomy and Astrophysics Department
University of California, Santa Cruz (UCSC)
Email: enrico@ucolick.org

Don Edberg
California State Polytechnic University Pomona
Email: dedberg@csupomona.edu